mnen
School of Medicine

Department of Surgery

 

The Department of General Surgery was established by the 33rd order of the Rector of the National University of Mongolia on August 1, 1944. The head of the department was Dr. N.F Berezkin, a Soviet surgeon and General Surgical Specialist of the Mongoliaи People’s Republic.

In 1961, the Department of General and Specific Surgery was established at the Institute of Medicine, headed by Dr. T. Shagdarsuren and Dr. V. Ichinkhorloo, respectively.

In 1984, the Departments of General and Therapeutic Surgery were established, headed by Dr. P. Dolgor, and B. Goosh.

In 1995, B. Goosh was appointed as the head of the first surgery department and Ch. Puntsag was appointed as the head of the second surgery department.

In 2002, O.Sergelen, Doctor of Science, Professor, was appointed as the head of the 1st Department of Surgery. Dr. D.Zorig, PhD, was appointed as the head of the second department.

In 2014, the first and second departments of surgery merged together and Dr. O.Sergelen was appointed as the head of the department. Dr. B.Batsaikhan was appointed as a head of the department in 2017.

 

Structure

 

Name

Title

Contact information

1

B.Batsaikhan

Head of the department

PhD

batsaikhan@mnums.edu.mn

2

O.Sergelen

Consultant of the department

PhD, professor

sergelen@mnums.edu.mn

3

S.Erdene

Mongolian Consultant Surgeon, President of the Mongolian Laparoscopic Surgeons’ Association

Clinical professor

erdene@mnums.edu.mn

4

D.Zorig

PhD, associate professor

General surgeon

zorig@mnums.edu.mn

5

U.Sanchin

Head of the Department of Surgery at MJTH

PhD, General surgeon

sanchin@mnums.edu.mn

6

B.Baatarsuren

PhD

General surgeon

baatarsuren@mnums.edu.mn

7

Ch.Erdenetsetseg

Pediatric Surgeon

MSc

erdenetsetseg.ch@mnums.edu.mn

8

S.Amarsaikhan

MSc

Urology surgeon

amarsaikhan.s@mnums.edu.mn

9

L.Ganchudur

MSc

General surgeon

ganchudur@mnums.edu.mn

10

S.Tamir

MSc

General surgeon

tamir.s@mnums.edu.mn

11

E.Sarnai

MSc

General surgeon

sarnai.e@mnums.edu.mn

 

Training

 

Undergraduate study

    Our department is implementing a surgical training program approved by ASIIN, the International Accreditation Association.

An Experimental Surgical Center was established for undergraduate training

 

 

Postgraduate study

Advanced Trauma Life Support (ATLS) training course:

The training is licensed by the American College of Surgeons and follows an internationally recognized program standards.

Laparoscopic training center was established for postgraduate training

 

Research

Safe and Affordable surgery

Outcomes of liver transplantation in Mongolia

Early diagnosis of acute liver cirrhosis with ALT, ASAT, and C4 following liver transplantation

Innovation project “Introduction and usage of advanced technology that detects mutations in genes that cause hereditary breast and ovarian cancer”